Quel logement ?

Vous venez à Londres pour étudier ou faire un stage, vous allez avoir besoin d’un logement. Il existe beaucoup d’options, trouver le plus approprié n’est pas chose facile. Chaque personne possède ses propres raisons de venir à Londres, un budget différent et de multiples besoins. Nous, Home from Home, espérons vous aider à trouver le meilleur compromis en fonction de VOTRE demande et de vos besoins. Nous vous avons préparé un bref résumé de chaque option de logement disponible sur Londres, accompagné des points positifs, négatifs de chaque option afin de vous aider à faire le meilleur choix.

LOGEMENT CHEZ L’HABITANT

Budget: de £135 à £235 par semaine.

Le logement chez l’habitant est l’option la plus populaire et adapté aux étudiants visitant Londres. Londres est une très grande ville avec un réseau de transport excellent. Les familles d’accueils sont situées généralement dans la banlieue de Londres. Les hôtes sont des personnes régulières, occupant des professions très variées dans et autour de Londres.

Loger chez l’habitant est l’option la plus populaire et adapté aux étudiants visitant Londres car cette formule présente de nombreux avantages majeurs.
Budgétairement parlant, loger chez l’habitant est un très bon rapport qualité/prix. L’ensemble de la réservation est payé à l’avance et transparente. Si vous sélectionnez la demi-pension, vous avez le petit-déjeuner et le dîner compris. Vous avez à l’avance une idée du coût de la vie à Londres. Le seul coût que vous devez prendre en compte est le transport, les repas du midi et les dépenses loisirs. Loger chez l’habitant est aussi le meilleur moyen d’améliorer son anglais en parlant avec votre hôte, cela vous permettra aussi de découvrir les bons plans londoniens (visites ou pour manger à l’extérieur) et autour de Londres. Il y a de fortes chances que vous deveniez bon ami(e) avec votre hôte et donc que vous restiez en contact longtemps après vôtre départ.

Homestay option
Avantages :

Bon rapport/qualité-prix
Charges incluses donc les coûts sont transparents
Excellente manière d’améliorer votre anglais
Vivre avec un local et gagner en savoir
Aide de la part de votre hôte

Désavantages :

Obligation de respecter les règles de la maison
Les hôtes vivent généralement dans la banlieue, il faudra donc vous déplacer pour aller dans le centre de Londres
Les hôtes sont des familles, ce n’est pas la solution adéquate si vous venez à Londres pour faire la fête

Résidences étudiantes

Budget: de £250 à £450 par semaine.

Depuis ces dernières années, Londres a connue l’apparition de nombreuses résidences étudiantes. La majorité de ces résidences reste réservés aux étudiants (contrat minimum de 42 semaines). Cependant certaines agences (comme nous) peuvent vous offrir des séjours de courte durée (minimum de 4 semaines).

Les résidences étudiantes sont grandes, modernes et possèdent souvent des extras comme une salle de gymnastique, coffee shops, salle de détente ainsi que des lavoirs. L’avantage majeur des résidences étudiantes est qu’elles sont souvent très bien placée. La majorité des résidences sont situées dans la ZONE 1, d’autres ZONE 2 et souvent très prêt des stations de métro. Cependant, les résidences en ZONE 1 sont très chères, elles peuvent parfois coûter le double d’un autre type de logement.

Residence AccommodationAvantages :

Localisation en zone 1 souvent très proche des attractions et des écoles
La majorité des chambres possèdent une salle de bain intégrée
Une des meilleures manières de se faire des amies parmi les autres étudiants
Les résidences étudiantes sont des bâtiments modernes avec beaucoup d’activités accessibles

Désavantages :

Prix : L’un des moyens de se loger le plus cher
Les chambres sont plus petites que les autres logements
Bien qu’il soit facile de se faire des amis, les résidences peuvent aussi être source de solitude, chacun restant à ses propres occupations
La disponibilité des résidences est limitée car elles privilégient les contrats à longue durée

Une location de maison ou d’appartement

Budget: de £160 à £600 par semaine.

La location de maison/appartement est très populaire pour ceux qui souhaitent rester sur une longue période à Londres. La location de maison est un bon moyen de rencontrer du monde de votre âge. Comme les familles d’accueil, la majorité des maisons à louer se trouvent dans la banlieue de Londres, ce qui revient à utiliser les transports en commun pour aller à l’école/centre de Londres. Vous devrez respecter les règles de la maison mais aussi celles de vos colocataires. La majorité du temps vos colocataires auront le même âge que vous ce qui vous donnent plus de liberté que chez une famille (tout le monde veut faire la fête le même soir !)

Le plus gros désavantage de la location de maison/appartement est qu’elle est très chère. De plus, sans l’intermédiaire d’une agence et réglementations officielles, la qualité peut grandement varier. Les agents immobiliers louent souvent contre un loyer de 2 mois d’avance, il y a de nombreux frais d’agence accompagné de l’obligation de communiquer le nom et les informations d’un garant (membre de la famille promettant de payer à votre place si vous ne pouvez plus payer). Les charges (eau/électricité) ne sont pas comprises dans le loyer, vous devez les rajouter en extra.

House-share AccommodationAvantages :

Liberté de vivre avec d’autres personnes comme vous le faites habituellement
Peut-être une belle opportunité de se faire des amis
Possibilité de partager le loyer avec les colocataires
Vos colocataires sont susceptibles de parler la même langue que vous

Désavantages :

Les agences immobilières demandent beaucoup d’informations
Les charges ne sont pas souvent incluses et peuvent être très importantes pour votre budget
Qui requière généralement un contrat de 6 mois au minimum
Vivre avec d’autres personnes peut s’avérer stressant

Auberges de jeunesse et Hôtels

Budget: de £135 à £235 par semaine.

Budget pour les auberges: de £140 à £350 par semaine.
Budget pour les hôtels: de £280 par semaine.

Les auberges de jeunesses vous fournissent un logement accessible près des attractions touristiques. Les chambres sont souvent partagées sous forme de dortoirs avec des lits superposés. Des chambres seules ou doubles peuvent aussi être réservées si elles sont disponibles. Les auberges de jeunesses sont la meilleure option si l’on souhaite rester peu de temps sur Londres.

Les Hôtels peuvent vous offrir un service de meilleure qualité. Les chambres sont toujours équipées d’une salle de bain. L’hôtel est très apprécié des touristes. L’inconvénient majeur est le prix, en effet, pour loger dans un hôtel londonien, le prix minimum est de £100 par nuit. Vous pouvez aussi ressentir un manque d’ « ambiance » si vous restez en hôtel sur une longue période.

Hostel AccommodationAvantages :

Les hôtels et auberges sont souvent situés en ZONE 1, près des attractions touristiques et des universités
Les auberges de jeunesses vous logent pour un prix attractif
Les auberges vous offrent l’opportunité de rencontrer du monde, de vous faire de nouveaux amis
Un hôtel vous offre un confort : Restaurants, salle de gymnastique et conseils pour les visites

Désavantages :

Les auberges de jeunesses ne sont la majorité du temps pas confortable.
Les auberges sont souvent complètes
Les Hôtels sont chers, attendez-vous à payer plus de £100 par nuit
Dans un hôtel ou une auberge de jeunesse, la majorité des personnes viennent pour visiter par conséquent ne restent pas sur une longue période

Appartements équipées

Budget: de £360 à £1400 par semaine.

Les appartements équipés vous offrent le confort d’un hôtel 5 étoiles dans un appartement. Vous vivez indépendamment dans votre résidence (situés dans des zones spécialisées). Les appartements équipés comprennent un service de ménage ainsi qu’un/une concierge. C’est l’option la plus chère pour loger dans Londres. Le prix est d’environ £130 par nuit.

Serviced Apartment AccommodationAvantages :

La majorité des appartements sont localisés dans le centre de Londres (ZONE 1) (Kensington, Chelsea ou Notting Hill)
Un logement de qualité supérieure
Les appartements sont entretenus par un service de ménage, vous n’avez pas à le nettoyer vous même

Désavantages :

Ce type de logement est le plus cher
Souvent utilisé par les hommes/femmes d’affaire ou les touristes ayant un budget large.

Que disent-ils?

Latest From the BLOG

14th Feb, 2017

Que faire à Londres en début de soirée ?

Avec une heure de décalage avec la France, la nuit tombe plus tôt à Londres qu’à…

Read More
27th Jan, 2017

Le football londonien

Salut à tous ! Je suis Coriolan, stagiaire de 18 ans à London Homestays. Je vais…

Read More
10th Jun, 2016

Trooping the Colour!

  Hi everyone! I am Romane, a French Marketing intern at London Homestays and I will…

Read More
27th May, 2016

RHS Chelsea Flowers Show

Hello everyone! I am Romane, a Marketing intern at London Homestays and I will today tell…

Read More
13th May, 2016

My intern experience

Hi everyone, I’m Romane, from France. I am the new Marketing intern at London Homestays. I…

Read More
8th Apr, 2016

Charlotte Brontë Bicentenary

It’s Kate, taking over from Charlotte, for this week’s blog. Now, I love a good book.…

Read More
1st Apr, 2016

Find a job in London!

If you are from the EU or have permission to work in the UK you may…

Read More
29th Mar, 2016

Apocalypse locations

I don’t know if you have noticed, but lately everyone is going a little zombie apocalypse…

Read More
24th Mar, 2016

Easter in London

This long weekend is full of Easter activities, whether you want to gobble up some chocolate…

Read More

Which accommodation?

If you are coming to London to study or undertake a work placement or internship, you will need to find somewhere to stay. There are a number of options, so finding the right one for you may not be as easy as it seems. Everyone has different reasons for coming to London, different budgets, and different requirements. We at London Homestays hope to assist you in finding the best accommodation for YOU and your needs. We have therefore provided a brief overview of each of the common accommodation options available in London, along with honest and candid positives and negatives of each option, to help you make the best choice.

Homestay

Budget: from £135 to £235 per week.

A homestay is traditionally the most popular accommodation option for students visiting London. A homestay is where you live with a host/host family as if you were a visiting friend or family member. London is a large city with an excellent transport network, therefore the homestays are usually located in the suburban areas. Hosts are usually very regular people who work a wide variety of jobs in and around central London.

Staying in a homestay is the most popular option for students and interns visiting London because it has some major advantages over the other accommodation options. Primarily, it provides very good value for money, with the costs being paid in advance and being very transparent. All bills are included and if you select the Half Board option, so is breakfast and dinner. Therefore you have a very good idea of what your weekly ‘living costs’ will be before you arrive in London. All you have to factor in to your budget is your transportation costs, lunch and any money you want to set aside for socialising. Homestay accommodation is also the best way to practice your English and by speaking with your host, you can get lots of local tips – everything from the best way to travel around London, to the best places to visit and eat out. Hosts often become good friends with their guests and stay in touch long after their departure.

Homestay option
Advantages:

Great value for money
Bills are included so costs are clear
Great way to improve your English
Live with a local and gain their local knowledge
Support from the host

Disadvantages:

You are living as a guest so have to follow house rules. Not completely independent
Hosts usually live in suburban areas so you will have to commute to central London
Hosts are often families so this may not a good choice if you are coming to London to party

Student Residences

Budget: from £250 to £450 per week.

In the last few years London has seen the appearance of several large student residences. Most of these residences are targeted at the long stay university market (minimum contract of 42 weeks), however some agencies (such as ourselves) are able to offer shorter stays, usually starting from around 4 weeks.

Residences are large, modern buildings and usually have some great onsite facilities such as gyms, coffee shops, social areas and laundries. The rooms are usually a bit smaller than you would find in a house share or homestay but are compact and often en-suite. The major advantage student residences have over the other accommodation options is the location. The majority of the residences are located in zone 1, with others being in zone 2, and usually close to underground stations. However, zone 1 locations come with zone 1 prices, and rooms in student residences can cost up to double some of the cheaper accommodation options.

Residence AccommodationAdvantages:

Location – usually zone 1 and located within walking distance of a number of schools and attractions
Many of the rooms are en-suite
A great way to make friends with other students
Modern buildings with on-site facilities

Disadvantages:

Price – one of the most expensive accommodation options in London
Rooms can be smaller than other accommodation options
Although it is easy to make friends, residences can also be lonely places with everyone doing their own thing
Availability is limited with many residences insisting on long contracts

A house or flat share

Budget: from £160 to £600 per week.

House shares are increasingly popular with people who are visiting London and staying ‘long-term’. House shares are a good way to meet people that are a similar age to you and doing something similar e.g. studying in another country. Like homestays, house shares are almost always located in suburban areas which will mean taking public transport to get to school/Central London. While you will have to respect the house rules and your housemates, generally the other people staying in the house are young students, so you will have more freedom than in a homestay (although please note that not everyone wants to party on the same night)!

The main disadvantage of house shares is that they are often expensive and without any accrediting body or regulations, the standard can vary greatly. Estate agents often also insist on 2 months’ rent being held as a damage deposit, have large administration fees and require either credit checks or guarantors (family members who promise to pay the rent if you have any issues). Bills for utilities such as gas as electricity and TV licence are rarely included and the extra cost can come as a shock.

House-share AccommodationAdvantages:

Freedom of living with other people doing similar things as you
Can be a great way to make friends
Other people to share the bills with
Housemates may be able to speak your native language

Disadvantages:

Estate agents require a lot of information (such as credit checks) and deposits
Bills not usually included, can make budgeting difficult
Usually require a long contract of at least 6 months
Living with a lot of people can be as stressful as it is fun

Hostels and Hotels

Budget for Hostels: from £140 to £350 per week.
Budget for Hotels: from £280 per week (no maximum!).

Hostels provide cheap accommodation in popular areas close to tourist attractions. The rooms are usually shared, dormitory style rooms with bunk beds, although single or double rooms are also sometimes available. Hostels are best used for short stays of a week or less as they can feel cramped.

Hotels offer a more upmarket short term solution. Rooms are almost always en-suite and in popular tourist locations. The major drawback is the price, even budget hotels in London start from around £100 per night. They can also lack ‘atmosphere’ and be lonely places if you are staying long term.

Hostel AccommodationAdvantages:

Location – usually zone 1 and located within walking distance of a number of schools and attractions
Hostels offer cheap accommodation
Hostels offer great way to make friends with other travellers, although backpackers are usually just staying a few nights.
Hotels can offer great facilities, onsite restaurants, gyms and advice about the local area.

Disadvantages:

Hostels are a budget accommodation option so home comforts are in short supply
Hostel rooms can be busy and cramped
Hotels are expensive, expect to pay more than £100 per night
Other guests are usually on holiday or travelling through. If you are staying longer, it can be difficult to make friends.

Serviced apartments

Budget: from £360 to £1400 per week

Serviced apartments offer something in-between a 5 star hotel and an apartment. You live independently in an apartment block (usually in an exclusive area) but have a daily maid service and a concierge. This is the most expensive popular accommodation option in London with prices for a studio starting at around £130 per night.

Serviced Apartment AccommodationAdvantages:

Location – almost always located in expensive and exclusive areas of zone 1 such as Kensington, Chelsea or Notting Hill
A very high standard of accommodation
The apartments are serviced by maids so you do not even have to clean up

Disadvantages:

Price – the most expensive accommodation option available
Commonly used by business people or holiday makers with large budgets. You are unlikely to find many other students staying here

What they say...

Latest From the BLOG

14th Feb, 2017

What to do in London in the early evening?

With an hour of lag with France, night falls earlier in London than in Paris. During…

Read More
27th Jan, 2017

London Football

Hi everybody! I am Coriolan, an 18-year-old intern at London Homestays. I will talk today about…

Read More
11th Nov, 2016

Eating Well: A Student’s Guide

When you think of student meals, what pops into your head? Beans on toast, instant noodles and…

Read More
26th Oct, 2016

Remember remember…

The 5th of November, gunfire, treason and plot! Guy Fawkes night, or Bonfire night, is not…

Read More
15th Sep, 2016

The benefits of doing a proper check in and out

It’s a busy Saturday or Sunday, you have lot on, your student has just arrived after…

Read More
30th Aug, 2016

Workshops in London!

So, I know we hate to admit it but summer is drawing to an end. Soon…

Read More
25th Aug, 2016

Meet the team!

With the launch of our new website earlier this year, we decided that it high time…

Read More
12th Aug, 2016

OLYMPIC GAMES

With Rio in full swing and the Olympic fever in the air a blog on unusual…

Read More
9th Aug, 2016

Notting Hill Carnival!

Notting Hill Carnival!  Held over the August bank holiday (the last weekend of August) and dating…

Read More